Go to top of page

The National Intelligence Community

The National Intelligence Community (NIC) was officially formed following the Australian Government's adoption of the 2017 Independent Intelligence Review's (IIR) recommendations. The NIC comprises the six agencies that formerly made up the Australian Intelligence Community (AIC) — ONA, the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD), the Australian Geospatial-Intelligence Organisation (AGO), the Australian Secret Intelligence Service (ASIS), the Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO) and the Defence Intelligence Organisation (DIO) — as well as the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (ACIC) and the intelligence functions of the Australian Federal Police (AFP), Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC) and The Department of Home Affairs.

These agencies and departments form the Australian Government's intelligence enterprise, working to collect, analyse and disseminate intelligence information and advice in accordance with Australia's interests and national security priorities. The IIR noted that these tasks are growing more difficult, given the increasing complexity of Australia's geostrategic environment, the rapid pace of technological change and broadening scope of security and intelligence challenges. To address these challenges, the NIC was formed with a mandate to integrate the intelligence functions of government, and provide more opportunities for collaboration, coordination and cooperation.

Find out more about the specific roles of each NIC member. 

Read More

Learn about the history of the National Intelligence Community.

Read More