The ANU National Security College and National Intelligence Community have awarded six scholarships for women to undertake postgraduate study at ANU.

The ANU National Security College (NSC) has awarded six National Intelligence Community and National Security College Scholarships for Women(Opens in a new tab/window), with additional recipients to be announced later in the year. The recipients have been awarded full-fee sponsorship to undertake the Master of National Security Policy degree(Opens in a new tab/window).

Head of NSC Professor Rory Medcalf said there had been a large and diverse range of applicants, and this bodes well for the future of the national security workforce.

“We were really impressed by the calibre of applicants for this scholarship,” he said.

“Selecting only six recipients was very difficult indeed.

“I congratulate these outstanding individuals on their achievement and welcome them to the College.”

Director-General of National Intelligence Andrew Shearer looks forward to helping these women build their careers in national security.

“There are so many exciting opportunities in this community — and the National Intelligence Community, in particular,” he said.

“We look forward to working closely with these scholars during their studies, to help them to develop their understanding of careers in intelligence and national security more broadly and to set them up to make a valuable contribution when they graduate.”

The National Intelligence Community and National Security College scholarships have been established to foster the talent of Australian women from diverse backgrounds interested in national security and pursuing a career in the national intelligence community. They provide an excellent opportunity to showcase the College’s programs and provide an opportunity to women who may otherwise be unable to undertake a Master of National Security Policy degree.

The Master of National Security Policy offers a distinct combination of academic rigour and practical policy education to prepare students for careers in national security.

Funding for these scholarships has been generously provided by the following National Intelligence Community agencies: the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (ACIC), Australian Geospatial-Intelligence Organisation (AGO), Defence Intelligence Organisation (DIO), Australian Signals Directorate (ASD), Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO), Australian Secret Intelligence Service (ASIS) and the Office of National Intelligence (ONI).

More information is available on the ANU website(Opens in a new tab/window).

11 April 2022

  • NIC
  • News Article

Help safeguard Australia and shape the future of intelligence.